Home
O-W Cross Country to begin August 17th

O-W Cross Country to begin August 17th

Sports
2 mins
August 11, 2020

by Coach Brian Lewison

Owen-Withee Cross Country practice will begin for athletes in grades 6-12 on Monday, August 17th. New participants are always welcome. Practice will begin at 3:30 p.m. and runners should assemble at the high school lobby doors. As no locker room usage is allowed at this time, runners should wear the clothes they plan to run in. If you are a first-time athlete or haven’t had an athletic physical in the last year, you will need to get an athletic physical from a health care provider. All forms that are necessary for participation are on the athletic director page of the school website.

We will be socially distancing as much as possible, and the sport of cross country lends itself to social distancing. This is why we are allowed to start our season on time. Cross Country is assessed at being a low-risk activity in relation to most other sports, but there are still extra measures we will be taking when in our group setting. Runners should come with a mask or gaiter in case we have to go inside the school for weather related reasons. As this is a school sponsored sport, we will be following all guidelines regarding mask usage as it relates to the school setting. 

We look forward to getting back to extra-curricular activities after our long layoff. Our meet schedule remains mostly intact but timely updates will be posted on our O-W Cross Country Facebook page as changes occur. 

Revised Schedule:

Tues. Sept. 2 at Loyal

Thurs. Sept. 10 at Stanley-Boyd

Tues. Sept. 15 at Stratford

Tues. Sept. 22 at Cadott

Thur. Sept. 24 at Spencer

Tues. Sept. 29 at Edgar

Tues. Oct. 6 Home (Meadowview G.C.)

Fri. Oct. 9 at Altoona (Timber Ridge – night race)

Sat. Oct. 17 Conference – hosted by Marshfield Columbus

Sat. Oct. 24 Sectionals at Boyceville

Sat. Oct. 31 State at Wisconsin Rapids

Start times are not included yet as they will be adjusted according to how meets are conducted.


This article was orginally reported by