Ruling the class

MMC staff

Ruling the class

3 min
January 25, 2022

By Sentinel staff

CENTRAL WISCONSIN -- Multiple Clark County educators were among 25 Teachers of Distinction who were surprised in their classrooms Jan.19-24, through the Marshfield Area Chamber Foundation’s 2022 Crystal Apple Awards program.

The program kicked off on Dec. 6, with nominations due on Dec. 20.

The chamber received 1,528 nominations for 391 different educators in 10 area school districts.

Amanda Schlough was surprised by Marshfield chamber representatives and all of the students at Greenwood Elementary. Kris Leonhardt photo

The Crystal Apple Awards program promotes community awareness of the quality of education in the Central Wisconsin area and showcases exceptional teaching talent. Teachers of Distinction and Crystal Apple award winners are recognized by their peers, the business community,parents, and administrators at a special dinner held in the spring.

Educators with one or more years of teaching experience currently working at a school in Auburndale, Columbus Catholic, Granton,Greenwood, Immanuel Lutheran, Marshfield, Neillsville, Pittsville, Spencer, and St. Joseph’s-Stratford are eligible.

This year’s Teachers of Distinction are: Auburndale Elementary - Loralei Berry; Auburndale MS/HS - Joren Anderson; Columbus Catholic - Michael Iwanski; Grant Elementary - Amber Schultz & KevinGilbertson; Granton Schools - Jessica Schier; Greenwood Elementary - Amanda Schlough; Greenwood HS - Kelsey Hoverson; Immanuel Lutheran - Lori Steingraber;Lincoln Elementary - Elizabeth Heath; Madison Elementary = Travis Kundinger; Marshfield Middle School - Angela Weigel & Kimberly Kolstad; Marshfield HS- Eric Bowman & Timothy Bergelin; Nasonville Elementary - Kimberli Dammann; Neillsville Elementary - Amy Kosmosky; Neillsville MS/HS - Amy Gerhardt;Pittsville Elementary/MS - Lisa Denniston; Pittsville HS - Jordan Rayburn;Spencer Elementary - Shannon Malone; Spencer MS/HS - Abbi Roehrborn; St.John’s/OLP - Jennifer Brock; St. Joseph’s-Stratford - Diane Meyer; andWashington Elementary - Taylor Seehafer.

The next step is to identify the four teachers who will be named the 2022 Crystal Apple Award winners, and each will receive $1,000. A panel will make that decision in February and four Crystal Apple winners will be announced on March 2.

All 25 Teachers of Distinction will be honored at a banquet on May 4 at Hotel Marshfield.

This article was orginally reported by
MMC staff